1989-90 Baseball Teams


The success of Berlin’s baseball program starts at the instructional level and continues to the high school level. The Little League and Babe Ruth programs have received National recognition with Connecticut and New England Championships, and Babe Ruth World Series appearances. At the high school level the 1989 and 1990 baseball teams won back to back Class M State Championships. The 1989 team was ranked 1st in the state all season, suffering only one loss to Middletown. Senior Sean Garrison had an undefeated regular season and States as a pitcher, garnering All-State and State Gatorade Player of the Year recognition. Dave Swanson, a junior, also had an undefeated regular season and States. The middle infield of Tony Santoro and Matt Giana were errorless all season and the team was lead in batting by Scott Coletti with a batting average of .381 and Sean Garrison with a .422. Other members of the 1989 team were Steve Biscoglio, Kyle Cooney, Kevin Crowell, Dan Dombrowski, Scott Gentile, Steve Gentile, Rob Manzo, Eric Miranda, Peter Veleas, Todd Zup. They were coached by Leo Veleas assisted by Rob Langanauer and Mile Reilly. The team’s motto was “we came to play ball”.

The 1990 team had an overall record of 22-0 going 11-0 in league play. They received National recognition with 7 straight shut outs. In 22 games played the pitching staff recorded 12 total shut outs. Dave Swanson and Steve “Jake” Biscoglio received All-State recognition. Dave Swanson was the State Gatorade Player of the Year. The team averaged 8.09 runs per game while allowing their opposition only .86 runs per game. For the season the team scored 178 runs while giving up only 19. From the end of the 1989 season thru the 1990 season the team won 27 straight games. Both teams had several members that went on to play in college. Scott and Steve Gentile went on to Western where Steve was drafted by the Expos. Dave Swanson was drafted by the NY Mets. Other members of the 1990 team were Jason Albert, Fred Alkas, Tom Coccomo, Kyle Cooney, Scott Coletti, Kevin Crowell, Mike Church, Matt Giana, Cleve Huggins, Rob Manzo, Steve Petit, Tony Santoro, Dave Stefanowicz, Todd Zup, and Bryan Zup. They were coached by Leo Veleas assisted by Frank Naples and Nick Pepe.

Click here to make a nomination.

Related articles