2006 BHS Boys Basketball Team


As stated in the 2006 yearbook that while trekking through 9 losses, the basketball team rose to unfathomable heights to finish with 19 wins and a State Championship. Never surrendering an ounce of determination has proved to bring the team to an echelon of greatness that will never be stolen from the team members’ hearts or memories. Not only did they win the State Championship but they won the hearts and the respect of the school, town, and the State.

In their run to the State Championship as an 11 seed in the CIAC Division III they defeated Wright Tech in the 1st round, Waterford in the 2nd round, Coventry in the quarterfinal, Woodstock Academy in the semifinal, and 4th seed Wilby-Waterbury 58-53 in the State Championship game. The team was led by Seniors Kyle Vazquez (captain), Kyle Zarotney (captain), Dan Hagen, Andrew Norton, and Brandon Lagueux. Other key contributors were Doran Mitchell, Eric Dietsch, Jeremy Thompson, Patrick McCandless, and Craig Cugno. Doran Mitchell led the team in the championship game with 26 points, Jeremy Thompson scored 12 of his 13 points in the second half, and Kyle Zarotney had 8 points and 9 rebounds. Doran Mitchell was selected as the State Championship MVP. Other team members were John Guzze, Chris Jambard, Teddy Kindelan, Patrick King, Jeff Muzio, Scott Reid, and manager John McNair. They were coached by David Bosso, assisted by Brian Amenta, Jason Pires, and Bob Mayer.

Other notable achievements during the season were the team being a Northwest Conference Tournament finalist with Doran Mitchell and Kyle Zarotney being named to the All-Northwest Conference and All-Northwest Conference Tournament Teams. Kyle Zarotney was a McDonald’s All-American nominee, and Doran Mitchell became a 1000-point scorer during the season.

Click here to make a nomination.

Related articles