1958 BHS Baseball Team


The 1958 baseball team is being inducted into the Berlin Hall of Fame as the first team to receive that recognition. This team was the first at the high school to win a state championship. During the 58 season the team won the Class S state title beating Guilford 6-4.

The team was coached by Bill Gibney who passed away in 1997 and was part of Berlin High School’s first Hall of Fame class in 2010. The assistant coach was Roy Fabian who was also part of the first Hall of Fame class last year, and whom died in 2011.

The following were members of that team. From the class of 1958: William Seelig, Thomas Gerdis, Lawrence Schoech, Peter Borgo, John Drummond. Class of 1959: Gary Waslewski (inducted 2010), David Dary, William Baretta Jr. Class of 1960: Peter Catalano, David Woodruff, Paul Chant, John David Brunette (deceased). Class of 1961: Dean Boissoneau, Robert Bromage, Ted Swanson, Jim Massirio, R. Jonathan Stansfield, Joseph Annunziata, Edward Giana, and Richard Bighinatti.

Click here to make a nomination.

Related articles